World heritage site in India list by UNESCO
About Positive India Nagesh  

World heritage site in India list: Everything you need to know


After UNESCO added Dholavira, Gujarat to the World Heritage list, the total number of World Heritage sites in India has raised to number 40. Here’s a World Heritage site in India list by UNESCO. So in today’s blog, we are going to see the list.

The Story

On July 27 Tuesday, UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization) declared the ancient city of Dholavira as a World Heritage site in India. Dholavira is the southern center of the Harappan Civilization in India. Following the declaration, UNESCO had informed that the water management system in Dholavira is a multi-layered defensive mechanism, extensive use of stone in construction, and special burial structures put the ancient city of Harappan apart from other cultural sites in India as well in the world.

“The ancient city of Dholavira is one of the most remarkable and well-preserved urban settlements in South Asia dating from the 3rd to mid-2nd millennium BCE (Before Common Era)”.

The UN cultural agency said in a statement,

“Absolutely delighted by this news. Dholavira was an important urban center and is one of our most important linkages with our past. It is a must-visit, especially for those interested in history, culture, and archaeology”.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi took tweets and shared this information while writing,

“Today is a proud day for India, especially for the people of #Gujarat. Since 2014, India has added 10 new World Heritage sites – one-fourth of our total sites. This shows PM @narendramodi’s steadfast commitment to promoting Indian culture, heritage and the Indian way of life,”

Union minister for culture G Kishan Reddy tweeted.

Taking to Twitter, Union Minister for Culture G Reddy said that

“India has added 10 new World Heritage sites, one-fourth of India’s total sites on Unesco’s list.”

With Dholavira, UNESCO also inscribed Telangana’s iconic Kakatiya Rudreshwara (Ramappa) Temple on the World Heritage List. The UN agency said that the two inscribed World Heritage Sites from India offer “great insight into the knowledge and ways of life of earlier societies, customs, and communities.”

The 40 World Heritage Sites in India


•  Dholavira, Gujarat

•  Ramappa Temple, Telangana

•  Taj Mahal, Agra

•  Khajuraho, Madhya Pradesh

•  Hampi, Karnataka

•  Ajanta Caves, Maharashtra

•  Ellora Caves, Maharashtra

•  Bodh Gaya, Bihar

•  Sun Temple, Konark, Odisha

•  Red Fort Complex, Delhi

•  Buddhist monuments at Sanchi, Madhya Pradesh

•  Chola Temples, Tamil Nadu

•  Kaziranga Wild Life Sanctuary, Assam

•  Group of Monuments at Mahabalipuram, Tamil Nadu

•  Sundarbans National Park, West Bengal

•  Humayun’s Tomb, New Delhi

•  Jantar Mantar, Jaipur, Rajasthan

•  Agra Fort, Uttar Pradesh

•  Group of Monuments at Pattadakal, Karnataka

•  Elephanta Caves, Maharashtra

•  Mountain Railways of India

•  Nalanda Mahavihara (Nalanda University), Bihar

•  Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Terminus (formerly Victoria Terminus), Maharashtra

•  Qutub Minar and its Monuments, New Delhi

•  Champaner-Pavagadh Archaeological Park, Gujarat

•  Great Himalayan National Park, Himachal Pradesh

•  Hill Forts of Rajasthan

•  Churches and Convents of Goa

•  Rock Shelters of Bhimbetka, Madhya Pradesh

•  Manas Wild Life Sanctuary, Assam

•  Fatehpur Sikri, Uttar Pradesh

•  Rani Ki Vav, Patan, Gujarat

•  Keoladeo National Park, Bharatpur, Rajasthan

•  Nanda Devi and Valley of Flowers National Parks, Uttarakhand

• the Western Ghats

•  Kanchenjunga National Park, Sikkim

•  Capitol Complex, Chandigarh

•  The Historic City of Ahmedabad

•  The Victorian and Art Deco Ensemble of Mumbai

•  The Pink City – Jaipur

So that’s all for today about the World heritage site in India list by UNESCO

If you like the blog share it with your friend and be proud.

We will catch you in the next one till then take care of yourself and your family.

Leave A Comment

%d bloggers like this: